Scuba Diving NJ: A Guide to the Different Types of Scuba Certification

Scuba Diving NJ
22 Jun 2022

Scuba Diving NJ: A Guide to the Different Types of Scuba Certification

Are you one of the nearly 3 million people in the United States who are interested in scuba diving? This intriguing and exciting activity is only gaining popularity, but there’s a lot to know about the different types of certifications to make sure you have a safe and fun experience.

Read on to learn everything you need to know, including where you can go scuba diving in NJ!

Levels of Certification

Scuba diving requires moving up through various levels to make sure you know what to expect, and you’re prepared for anything. While scuba diving is generally safe, it’s important to take the training seriously, so you have a great experience.

PADI certification courses are very common and include comprehensive and hands-on instruction.

Discover Scuba Diving

You’ll learn the basics of how the equipment works, and an instructor will walk you through everything you need to know to go diving.

You will have an experienced professional with you at all times and will only be able to dive to a depth of 40 feet.

Open Water Diver

If you’ve decided scuba diving is for you and you’re ready to jump in, you’ll need to learn crucial underwater skills about your gear so you can dive with confidence. This is where you’ll start to get into more serious scuba lessons. While you’re limited to a depth of 59 feet, once you complete your OWD course, you’ll be able to dive without a professional.

Advanced Open Water Diver

Now that you’re comfortable with diving, you can continue your certification to Advanced Open Water Diver. You’ll be able to dive to 100 feet, and you’ll also start to learn more technical skills.

These first levels are required to reach any higher certifications, all of which you can pick and choose depending on your diving preferences.

Specialty and Technical Certifications

If you want to get into more advanced scuba diving, you might be interested in continuing your education with specialty and technical certifications.

These other certifications include Wreck Diver, Enriched Air Diver, Digital Underwater Photographer, PADI instructor, and more.

Wreck Diver certification will take you through the ways in which you can explore shipwrecks safely while respecting the dive site.

Divers interested in going for longer dives will be interested in the Enriched Air certification, also known as “nitrous oxide” or “nitrox.” Nitrox diving also helps divers avoid “the bends,” or decompression sickness.

Rescue Diver

This certification will allow you to assist others while underwater, and you’ll have to have both CPR and first-aid training. Rescue Diver training will teach you how to recognize and act in emergency situations.

Master Scuba Diver

This is one of the most advanced certifications available and is only attainable after receiving your Rescue Diver certification. You also need five or more specialty certifications and at least 50 dives completed and logged.

Scuba Diving in NJ

Once you have your scuba diving certification, you don’t have to go far to get started! There are places right in New Jersey where you can go for a great experience.

Start here to begin looking for an instructor who can show you the ropes of scuba diving in NJ.